
The operator of Crypto.com was sued over a gambling-linked domain dispute, just three days before it announced its entrance into sports trading.
The operator of Crypto.com was sued over a gambling-linked domain dispute, just three days before it announced its entrance into sports trading.
An Estonian technology company has filed a lawsuit against Hong Kong-based Foris Limited, the operator of Crypto.com, alleging attempted “reverse domain name hijacking” of the web address Cripto.com.
Filed in Arizona federal court on 20 December, the complaint by Domdevelo OÜ seeks to protect its ownership of Cripto.com, which it purchased in November 2021 for nearly $75,000.
The dispute arose after Foris filed a complaint with the World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) claiming trademark rights over the domain name.
This action resulted in GoDaddy.com temporarily “locking” the domain, preventing Domdevelo from using it.
According to the lawsuit, Foris made “knowing and material misrepresentations” in its WIPO complaint by falsely claiming ownership of US trademark registrations that actually belong to a different company, Foris Technology Pte Ltd of Singapore.
Domdevelo also applied for a recent trademark application for “CRIPTO.COM”, specifically for online gambling and gaming services.
Filed in March 2024, the application covers casino gaming, online gambling, and computer gaming services.
The complaint noted that Foris Limited conducts no such gambling-related business activities.
Crypto.com launches sports trading
Just days after the complaint was filed, Crypto.com announced it would be launching Sports Event Trading on its platform in a move that led to a slump in several US online gambling companies’ share prices.
Domdevelo argues that “Cripto” is a legitimate word in several languages, including Italian, where it means “krypton” and is also the first-person form of “to encrypt.”
The company, which develops web portals, says it legitimately purchases generic domain names for development or resale, citing other holdings like Check.id and CryptoAlert.ai.
The complaint seeks declaratory judgment that Domdevelo’s registration and use of Cripto.com is lawful and doesn’t infringe on any trademark rights.
The company is also requesting damages and attorney’s fees under the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act.